Blue Morpho- Peruvian Rainforest

Blue Morpho- Peruvian Rainforest

This is a wall-hanging made of acrylic paint and iridescent pigment on satin (or a close relative of formalwear fabric such as acetate), suspended on a painted bamboo rod. This piece was inspired by the iridescent blue violet butterfly wings of the Blue Morpho species in the Amazonian rainforests, such as in Peru. The wing patterns in this wall-hanging are not replicas of the Blue Morphos, rather, they are a conglomerate of various wing patterns that I observed in scientific books on butterflies. I did a series of illustrations, using the images in these books as my reference material, and then compiled patterns into these new set of wings on the wall-hanging. I began this piece several years ago, and haven’t worked on it since. There are a few finishing touches I’d like to add but it is almost there.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment